Cricket West Indies has announced its 13-man squad for the first Test of the 2-match Test series against India, starting on 12 July. In this Test match to be held in Dominica, Kraigg Brathwaite will be seen taking charge of the Windies team. So after the year 2021, all-rounder Rahim Cornwall has also got a place in the team. Jason Holder and Alzarri Joseph, who were part of the Windies squad in the World Cup qualifiers, have also found a place in the squad. The squad also includes 2 uncapped players, Kirk McKenzie and Alyque Athanaz, who recently performed well for the A team that toured Bangladesh. Both these players are likely to make their Test debut.

West Indies’ 13-man squad for the first Test

Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Alik Athanaj, Tejnarin Chanderpaul, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua de Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kirk McKenzie, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warken.

Reserve player Tevin Imlach and Akeem Jordan.

Indian team leaves for Dominica from Barbados

Team India, which arrived 10 days ago to prepare for the Windies tour, completed training in Barbados and now left for Dominica to play the first Test match. On this tour, Team India has to play 3 ODIs and 5 T-20 matches as well as a 2-match Test series. The ODI series will begin on July 27 while the first match of the T20 series will be played on August 3. The debut of left-handed young batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal in the first Test match for Team India is believed to be fixed.

Rahul Dev

Cricket Jounralist at Newsdesk

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *