Lentils are an important part of Indian catering, which is rich in nutrition. It is considered to be an excellent source of protein, especially for vegetarians. But do you know that lentils are placed in the category of non -vegetarian food in some religious beliefs? It may sound strange to hear, but in Hinduism it is avoided to eat, especially Brahmins and saints do not include it in their diet.
Religious belief: Why is lentils considered carnivorous?
According to some beliefs, during the churning of the ocean, when Lord Vishnu cut the head of an asura named Swarbhanu, lentils were produced from his blood. For this reason, it is seen as a non -vegetarian food. At the same time, some other religious stories states that it was born from the blood of Kamdhenu cow, so it was not considered a holy food.
Ayurvedic Caus
Apart from religious beliefs, according to Ayurveda, lentils have more tamasic properties. Eating it can increase lethargy, anger and fierceness, as well as stimulate libido. This is the reason why people walking on the spiritual path avoid eating it.
Why compare non-veg in terms of nutrition?
Lentil dal contains high amounts of protein, which brings it closer to non-veg in terms of nutrition. This is the reason why many times it is counted in the category of non -vegetarian food, although it is scientifically completely vegetarian.